How to ask a veterinarian if you can shadow/volunteer for them?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Aniaml Lover 634

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, so I am currently a freshman at the University of Findlay and I am in the pre-vet program here and was wondering if anyone could tell me how to get your foot in the door to shadow/volunteer with a veterinarian?
And should you turn in your resume to someone at the front desk or should you email someone at that animal clinic? And also, what should you tell them if you do turn in a hard copy to them face to face?
And to create a resume, the only experience I ever had was volunteering at an animal shelter for a short amount of time when I was younger. But, then I also have experience with hands on experience with horses and the livestock animals at my school and I already learned how to give exams and give vaccines. And in my last 2 years of high school, I went to a career technical center and worked with animals there too.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, so I am currently a freshman at the University of Findlay and I am in the pre-vet program here and was wondering if anyone could tell me how to get your foot in the door to shadow/volunteer with a veterinarian?
And should you turn in your resume to someone at the front desk or should you email someone at that animal clinic? And also, what should you tell them if you do turn in a hard copy to them face to face?