How to be considered "In State"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SKaminski

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone.

I graduated from college last year (2011), plan on taking my MCATS in January 2013, and applying that same cycle. I realize this means i won't be going to med school until august 2014, but that's okay.

Anyways, i've lived in california nearly my whole life. I went to elementary school, middle school, high school, and college in california. My parents currently live in california, as well.

The thing is, I want to apply to california med schools (with the in-state advantage), and while i currently live here, i've been thinking about moving to another state (for personal reasons.)

So the question is, can i move states, while still applying like i live in california?

I could use my parents address as my permanent address, if necessary. Or switch it to a California PO box.

I anticipate that i'll have to update my drivers insurance (tell em where i live). I will not have to update where my ACH payments (from work) go into. I travel A LOT for work, and when i'm not traveling its telecommuting, so not a problem.

So, will i have to update my drivers license? My voters registration? How do Med schools check for your state of residence? Do they ask for tax returns? Could i just file my tax returns as if i live in california?

Any insight would be helpful. Thanks.

(Again, i currently DO live in california. I'm just THINKING about moving out of state.)

Members don't see this ad.

Hey Everyone.

I graduated from college last year (2011), plan on taking my MCATS in January 2013, and applying that same cycle. I realize this means i won't be going to med school until august 2014, but that's okay.

Anyways, i've lived in california nearly my whole life. I went to elementary school, middle school, high school, and college in california. My parents currently live in california, as well.