How to become competitive for a psychiatry residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1045228

Hi guys. I'm a current MS 2 student at a Caribbean med school. Interested in pursuing a psychiatry residency.
Firstly, which programs out there are IMG-friendly, or is there a site that I can look at that shows them? My basic Google searches didn't really help a lot. I've already looked at my school's match list and saw where past graduates have matched into, so I'm now well aware of those.
I'm also hoping ya'll can provide me with some advice on how to become a competitive applicant for a psychiatry residency (outside of having an above average STEP score). Haven't shadowed a psychiatrist before, and I'm unable to now because of the pandemic. Any other resources or recommendations out there?
Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Step 1 - Crush, obliterate, eviscerate, destroy, eliminate, rend, maul, and ROFLstomp step 1.

Step 2- come back and ask after you finish step 1, everything else is not worth your time until completing step 1.

Reactions: 1 users
Step 1 - Crush, obliterate, eviscerate, destroy, eliminate, rend, maul, and ROFLstomp step 1.

Step 2- come back and ask after you finish step 1, everything else is not worth your time until completing step 1.

Understood. But, I asked for my own knowledge since I'm curious on what is recommended or even what others out there did.

Members don't see this ad :)
Understood. But, I asked for my own knowledge since I'm curious on what is recommended or even what others out there did.