How to cope with residency rejection with future aspirations in academic EM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureEMAcademician

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an EM resident who matched in his 16th of 16 programs last year. Home program didn't take me, programs I rotated at didn't take me. They all said great things about me - I am a hardworking person who gets along great with ancillary staff, patients, but barely passed step II and that was probably what did me in. I have a lot of research under my belt, and I have a passion for teaching and working with underserved communities. I see myself in academia. When I think back at how much I loved being in the inner city hospital I was at for medical school, I can't help but feel betrayed (the word 'betrayed' is unjustified I'm sure - they surely ranked me fairly due to my academic shortcomings - it's just how I feel) because of the extremely close bonds I had with nursing, faculty, and everyone in that department and my being passed over. In fact, having applied to pretty much every program in the eastern half of the country and ranking every program that interviewed me and only matching at the last one, it seems that every single academic department in the eastern half of the US passed on me.

Anyone have advice for my feeling discouraged having been 'rejected' by every academic center and having a desire to be in academia? I know that finishing residency and finding a job is far easier than finishing med school and matching. And I've had perfect job reviews so far, with my PD saying "the sky's the limit" for me. It's just the lingering/nagging feeling in the back of my head that I wasn't good enough to be hired at any of these places when every single one of them reviewed my applications for residency last year.

Members don't see this ad.