I apologize if a recent thread on this topic exists. I scanned a few pages back and found similar elements to my questions, but couldn't find any extensive info on this topic.

I graduated from UC Santa Barbara in 2009 with a liberal arts degree and a 2.93 GPA. I avoided sciences like the plague after finding them uninteresting in high school. Of course, I recognized that I have a true passion for dentistry and science in the months after graduation. :laugh:

So, I'm planning on returning to school to take my pre-dental courses.

What is the best approach for gaining admission to a university with the sole intention of taking pre-dental courses? I will not be completing a four-year degree and I worry that a CC will not carry the same weight. Is there any difference between taking the courses at a Cal State University or a UC?

One more question:

I understand that dental admission offices primarily consider the first GPA in a situation where an applicant has completed subsequent undergraduate work. However, I took no science courses during my four years at UCSB. I don't expect to erase my poor undergraduate GPA, but can I expect dental schools to weigh my new GPA (the pre-dental courses) as my "science GPA?"

Thanks all.

SeattleRDH

Moderator Emeritus
Mar 10, 2010
Duh
Status
Sounds like your science GPA is a clean slate so that is to your advantage! You can take your prereqs at community college but you have to get almost all A's and set a goal for 20 or more on the DAT. If you haven't taken math for a while look into an algebra refresher course before you take physics. I wish I had.

customx

7+ Year Member
Oct 20, 2009
Status
Dental Student