How to get a great LOR during rotations?

Discussion in 'Clinical Rotations' started by dingleberry007, Dec 11, 2008.

1. dingleberry007

2+ Year Member

hello everyone...

I was wondering if anyone could give me some insight or advice concerning how to go about getting a good letter of recommendation during rotations. What does a student have to do or show that sets them apart from the other hundreds of students that also want a strong letter? I realize I have to work hard, but what does that entail and is there anything else I can do? I haven't started rotations so forgive me if my question is somewhat naive.

I will be starting my 3rd year rotations in the near future and I am a caribbean student, so I will need every edge I can get.

thank you very much

2. masterofmonkeys

masterofmonkeys Angy Old Man
    7+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    it's not rocket science. Prove to your attending that you're working your tail off and learning as much as possible. Prove to your resident and intern that you're trying to make their lives as easy as possible.

Show insight regarding meds: Suggest dosage adjustments or alternate/additional medications if current ones aren't working as well as you'd like.

If a scan's been done but there's no rads report, tell them what you think of the imaging and pester radiology for a read.

Work on disposition from the get go (what the patient needs to be done in order to go home).

Know the trends for critical lab values, whether BNP, WBC, BP, or whatever.

3. flumazenil

2+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    kiss ass and don;t slap the nurses ass

4. dragonfly99

10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Post # 2 tells you how to really be a good jr. medical student.