How to get involved in research outside of college?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GBCrzzyy

The moon is just the back of the sun.
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated in May but never had any research experience throughout undergrad. The small private school I spent three years at had absolutely no research at all (plus I wasn't premed and didn't even consider looking for research opportunities outside of school) then I transferred for my last two years because I decided that I wanted to go to medical school. At the large University I transferred to, I applied for a couple research openings on campus but the PIs for those labs were pretty dead set on having students that were either sophomore standing (so they would have more time at the University) or Juniors that have been at the University until then so they could be sure of their academic background. So as a transfer I wasn't what they were looking for then I reapplied the next year but they didn't want to train a Senior that wouldn't be around after graduation. All reasonable but it just didn't work out. I have a full-time job that is giving me extremely valuable medical experience but I wanted to have some kind of research experience. Any ideas how I can find experience as a graduate? Every time I try looking I can only find full-time paid positions but I'm thinking more of a part time schedule and it doesn't have to be paid. Should I start looking up PIs and asking them directly if I can spend time volunteering as an assistant in their lab? I'm near Denver, CO btw.

Members don't see this ad.

Pound the pavement and be willing to receive no responses from PIs (and rejections from PIs) until finally someone perks ups and pays attention to your offer to volunteer your FREE time and labor. It may take a LONG time, but it can be an incredible experience.