SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

How to get more money in medical school??

Discussion in 'Financial Aid' started by Youngling, Feb 26, 2002.

1. Youngling

Youngling Member 7+ Year Member

Feb 11, 2002
    New York
    Hi! I am in second year of medical school right now. I didn't take out any more money than what is required for tuition this year. I tried living off my savings from last year. I lived with my family to save rent and cut a lot of expenses. But, now I am running out of money. I will have to apply for financial aid for the third year of medical school after a couple of months and I won't be able to get any financial aid untill september or October...I am really running out of money for personal expenses at this moment . Can anybody guide me as what or where I can get more loan from? Should I go to my school's financial aid's office and say what I have said here? or are there other banks or websites I should look at? Please HELP!!!!

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. lilycat

lilycat Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

Aug 12, 2000
    ???
    Go talk to you financial aid office first -- they should be able to guide you through the process. I believe you can still apply for financial aid for this academic year, but I'm not sure how long it should take -- hopefully not more than a month to complete all the paperwork, so I'm not sure what you meant about not getting money until next September. Since this isn't a peak busy time for most financial aid offices, and if you explain how urgent this is, I wouldn't be surprised if they could finish your paperwork in less than a month.