How to Improve my application for Med School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Shipwreck

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a freshman in college and plan to eventually apply to Med School. My school of choice is currently Johns Hopkins School of Medicine for ophthalmology. What do I need to have done by the time I apply?

I know the highest possible GPA and MCAT scores is a must, but what about everything else?
Would working in the Walmart Vision Center be more or less beneficial as working as a nursing assistant?
Is 2 4-week mission trips enough or should I plan for more?
Will two semesters abroad (one in Ireland, the other in Spain) help at all?
Should I shadow just ophthalmologists or should I go beyond that?

Any advice is welcome

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a freshman in college and plan to eventually apply to Med School. My school of choice is currently Johns Hopkins School of Medicine for ophthalmology. What do I need to have done by the time I apply?

I know the highest possible GPA and MCAT scores is a must, but what about everything else?
Would working in the Walmart Vision Center be more or less beneficial as working as a nursing assistant?
Is 2 4-week mission trips enough or should I plan for more?
Will two semesters abroad (one in Ireland, the other in Spain) help at all?
Should I shadow just ophthalmologists or should I go beyond that?

Any advice is welcome

So, obviously highest GPA and MCAT score. That's a given. The higher the better. Mission trips are okay, but med schools will see it as medical tourism I believe.

Abroad is good, but try to get involved there. Join clubs, maybe teach, help out in the communities abroad instead of just going there.