How to keep your head up when a low Verbal is keeping you out of med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AOT11

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I posted this in the MCAT forums but I think it'd be better here, since many of you are already in med school.

I have pretty decent stats. I have research, over 1,000 hours in healthcare, good community service, and a 3.72 sGPA. My first MCAT score was a 12/5/11. I got a verbal tutor and have done everything possible but cannot seem to hit 8 (I'm stuck at 6). English is my first language. I'm retaking next week and have realized that a low verbal (a mere 60 minute section) is keeping me out, and it's hard to "keep your head up" in situations like this, especially since I've been practicing verbal for 4 months. What would you guys recommend? I've worked pretty hard and now feel like I'm close to giving up.

This isn't me venting, by the way. I just don't know what the best steps would be. Should I even bother taking the exam next week? Two low verbal scores would look horrendous.

Members don't see this ad.

Postpone and try a different VR strategy.

If you really want to go to M.D. medical school, this may be something that can't be done with a quick fix?

Have you considered taking a philosophy class? Or better, auditing a reasoning and logic deduction class at a nearby ivy? At my school a lot of students take a deduction class b/c it gives them the real skills to deal with the verbal or LSAT

As tough as this sounds, I would consider postponing. You might be an MD with an inspiring story for someone in the future! you can do it!

Members don't see this ad :)
I posted this in the MCAT forums but I think it'd be better here, since many of you are already in med school.