Fay

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Apr 11, 2007
Status
Non-Student
How are people moving to another city for med school?

I'm not sure if this topic has been talked about in other thread. So, as a poor college graduate, I have a lot of craps: cheap clothes, second hand furniture, second hand electronics, second hand everything, a lot of heavy outdated books (some I have never read), etc. I'm not sure if I should try to get rid of all these stuff (donate maybe? I don't think anyone will wanna buy them) or try to ship them. Shipping doesn't seem cheap. Yet, after I get to med school, I probably will be buying the same kind of craps because I'm still poor. Any suggestions?

taponthecloud

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Nov 15, 2007
New England
Status
Medical Student
Depends how far away med school is from home. I'll be moving from the west to the east coast so I don't plan on bringing a lot of stuff from home with me (it's too much of a burden and I like to have my stuff at home to use when I fly back for the holidays). I plan on buying new clothes, bits of furniture, travel gear, etc but not much else.

However, if I were to attend a school close to home, I would bring most of my personal belongings with me since it'd be easier to transport back and forth from home to school in my car.

OP
F

Fay

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Apr 11, 2007
Status
Non-Student
Depends how far away med school is from home. I'll be moving from the west to the east coast so I don't plan on bringing a lot of stuff from home with me (it's too much of a burden and I like to have my stuff at home to use when I fly back for the holidays). I plan on buying new clothes, bits of furniture, travel gear, etc but not much else.

However, if I were to attend a school close to home, I would bring most of my personal belongings with me since it'd be easier to transport back and forth from home to school in my car.