How to prepare for a medical career in high school?

cranialcombustion

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Aside from taking AP courses, studying well, and keeping up GPA, what are things I can do to increase my chances of succeeding in medical school and beyond? E.g. MCAT/SAT/ACT preparation, suturing/CPR skills, anatomy studies, etc. I am a freshman, but eager to prepare. Thank you!

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

Members don't see this ad.

Enjoy your life and be a damn teenager, now is not the time to be getting all excited about being a doctor. Get into the best school you can, pick a major you like, date somebody cute, learn to be an interesting and dynamic person.

Reactions: 5 users
You need to talk to career counselors and practicing doctors and find out if it's a career that appeals to you.

Members don't see this ad :)
Just get good grades and don't get arrested. Enjoy being a kid for now

Reactions: 1 users
Your priorities:

1. Keep you nose clean. The pre-med forum is currently taken over by a guy who let a friend cheat off him and is surprised by how much this will hurt him. Nothing illegal, no academic dishonesty.
2. Take time-consuming classes. You want to learn how to manage time and study in high school
3. Explore different interests (for me it was debate and politics). People who only do premed stuff are usually boring and people don't enjoy hanging out with them (and that can include your med school interviewer!)

By the end of your third year of college, you should have a good GPA, a good SAT/ACT score (don't waste time with the MCAT right now, you'll forget it all when it's time to take it!), a longterm (2+ years) commitment to several extracurriculars, some leadership positions (probably third year), volunteering. If you want to get started in premed stuff, fantastic. Find a hospital/clinic that will let you and do your volunteering there.