How to Prepare for Medical School (Particularly cardiology) as a High School Student?

Nov 17, 2013
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
Hello. I am a high school student currently in 10th grade. I am interested in learning about cardiology and preparing for medical school. Can someone recommend textbooks or resources I can use to prepare myself for college level medical classes and cardiology? I eventually plan on becoming a non invasive cardiologist.

Also, what do you guys think about the future of cardiology jobs? Is the demand increasing or decreasing? Do you think the annual pay will significantly increase or decrease?

I am also curious about the average weekly hours of a cardiologist..

Thanks in advance.

PapaGuava

The Real PG
Gold Donor
7+ Year Member
May 10, 2012
Status
Medical Student
Hello. I am a high school student currently in 10th grade. I am interested in learning about cardiology and preparing for medical school. Can someone recommend textbooks or resources I can use to prepare myself for college level medical classes and cardiology? I eventually plan on becoming a non invasive cardiologist.

Also, what do you guys think about the future of cardiology jobs? Is the demand increasing or decreasing? Do you think the annual pay will significantly increase or decrease?

Thanks in advance.

I'd suggest just focusing on your high school classes, get a good GPA and test scores for the universities you wish to apply for. You don't need to get any MCAT books or medical school material as of yet. I suggest if you like Cardiology, read up on the field and volunteer in that area of medicine. Try not to be one sided though, you have quite a few years ahead to decide, myself included(Freshmen in college). So experience volunteering and readin about other fields would be a good place to start.

Hope you continue to visit on SDN, it is a great website!

Last edited:

mcloaf

7+ Year Member
Jan 21, 2012
Status
Resident [Any Field]