How to prove that a DO LOR was written by an ACTUAL physician?

reese07

10+ Year Member
Feb 4, 2007
Status
Pre-Medical
I'm new to Interfolio and during the beginning of requesting a LOR from my DO, I began to wonder how does this give schools proof that the LOR was actually written by a physician and not some random person? Like it seems like it's easy for someone to fake a DO LOR through Interfolio. Sorry, but this has just been bothering me...

Biology101

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Nov 10, 2008
Status
I'm new to Interfolio and during the beginning of requesting a LOR from my DO, I began to wonder how does this give schools proof that the LOR was actually written by a physician and not some random person? Like it seems like it's easy for someone to fake a DO LOR through Interfolio. Sorry, but this has just been bothering me...

Because it says D.O. after their last name...

Bacchus

Staff member
Administrator
10+ Year Member
Apr 28, 2007
Status
Attending Physician
Your physician uploads or sends the letter in on official letterhead. A school isn't going to read/put any weight on a letter that doesn't come on letterhead.

Tekar

Finally at peace
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jan 12, 2008
Carson City NV
Status
Resident [Any Field]
But can't someone just put "DO" after their name?
Yes, just like someone can make a really elaborate transcript on photoshop...Yes, people can fabricate glorious letters of recommendation on behalf of themselves and attach a random DO in their area's name, but really...

let it go...

Morsetlis

I wish I were a dentist
7+ Year Member
Jan 22, 2010
The "Garden" State
Status
Resident [Any Field]
One of my physicians doesn't even have an office... I guess his Letterhead is gonna be designed in Word, lol.

bellakk

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Feb 20, 2009
Status
Medical Student