How to quit your job...if you might not make it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

novawildcat

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I took the MCAT and scored a little lower than I wanted-28R. I graduated with a 3.7 and 3.82 BCPM, but I am worried that I won't be accepted with that low of a MCAT score. The horrible fact is that a lot of med schools want a letter from a supervisor if you have worked full time for more than a year. It would be terrible if I have to tell my supervisor that I want to go to med school, will have to obviously quit, and on top of that ask him to write a LOR. What would even be worse is what would happen if I don't be accepted? They would probably want to lay me off and hire someone who actually wants to do my job for a living permanently. Has anyone else had this predicament?

Members don't see this ad.

I might be in a similar situation although I'm still working part-time. At one point, I hated my job so bad that I just wanted to leave but I decided not to burn the bridge. Instead, I asked my boss to reduce my work hours and I returned the favor by working some odd hours. I can at least work there during summer when i don't have school. I also realized i couldn't study for longer than 8 hours, so it was nice to have some changes during the day.

Would your boss let you work part-time like 20 hrs week?

You might want to consider this option, if you are planning to get a LOR from your boss.