How to study bio most effectively

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ahc336

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in online Intro Bio 2 and I feel like I'm drinking from a water hose. I don't know what level of analysis to go to, and I feel like my study methods are weak.

How do you guys effectively study for biology, and for when applicable, an online class? Rewriting notes and reviewing isn't working.

Members don't see this ad.

The book:horns::horns::horns::horns::horns::horns:
And practice questions.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Why are you taking it online?

Reactions: 1 user
I had success with 1) drawing out concepts on a whiteboard, erasing, and doing it again and again until I could do it in my sleep (this was also the way I studied for O-Chem effectively) 2) flashcards-I swear by Anki; I find it effective to make flashcards while I'm reading over concepts, and then revisit them many times before an exam

I'm sorry I don't have any suggestions for online classes...Good Luck!!

Reactions: 2 users
I had success with 1) drawing out concepts on a whiteboard, erasing, and doing it again and again until I could do it in my sleep (this was also the way I studied for O-Chem effectively) 2) flashcards-I swear by Anki; I find it effective to make flashcards while I'm reading over concepts, and then revisit them many times before an exam

I'm sorry I don't have any suggestions for online classes...Good Luck!!
Is Anki an app? and thanks!

I just started doing this for organic and it's wonderful. White boards ftw.

OP: if you can, try to meet your professor in person (if they aren't on your campus then it's obviously not feasible). Knowing who you are and being able to associate a face with a name will help them help you when you need it.

Reactions: 1 users
Quizlet has great practice questions from various textbooks.