How to survive dental school?

Discussion in 'Dental' started by hopefully, Nov 13, 2002.

1. hopefully

hopefully Member
    7+ Year Member

Hi fellow dental students,

I came to dental school with the intent on specializing (like most students), but I have to say I'm already overwhelmed with the work load . I feel tired everyday from being in class 8-5 pm and then going home and studying and repeating the cycle everyday. Don't get me wrong; I want to work hard, but it's just non-stop day in day out. I'm only in my first year so I have a long road ahead of me. I'm really happy and grateful I'm in dental school, but I never imagined it would be this difficult. For those of you intent on specializing how do you maintain the motivation to help you through the rough times?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Stanford Fencer

Stanford Fencer Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

which school are you attending?

4. gryffindor

Dentist 10+ Year Member

Dentist
    hello hopefully,

I understand exactly how you feel. When I started two years ago, I knew dental school would be a lot of work and competitive, but I was overwhelmed at the amount of work. And, like you, the never ending cycle of sitting in lecture from 8 - 5 followed by sitting in the library from 7 - 12 am got to me.