How to think conceptually?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

run91

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I had a really really hard time in physiology because the questions were very conceptual to me. When I was studying for physio, I would feel like I was understanding the topic and would feel really confident with the material. But as soon as I would do questions, it would feel like some of the correct answers were coming out of nowhere and were complete BS, which they obviously are not.

I have tried to really think about what I am studying and approach it from different angles, rather than just memorize it. But it never seems to work. I would spend hours talking something out with myself to make sure I am really understanding it. But I would still be completely blindsided by some of the questions. I fear that I will have the same problems with Step 1 and being a doctor in general if I don't learn how to think conceptually.

I am asking if any of you were like me and how you were able to teach yourself to think conceptually? Do you have any concrete advice or step by step plan or something on how you learned to do it? Talking it out, drawing it out, group studying or looking at other resources are not helping me at all. I think it might have to do with how I approach the material, but I don't know how to change that. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

The way I learn stuff conceptually is doing TONS of practice questions, figuring out WHY I chose the incorrect answer, and then understanding why the correct answer is true conceptually (using notes/slides/textbook).

Practice questions will become your friend when you get into med school. As you progress from first year-third year you get less time to study due to clinical obligations. Slowly your study time will be eaten up and you will get the most study "bang for your buck" by doing Qbanks.

Reactions: 2 users