How useful is previous experience as a Psychometrist for Clinical Psych PhD/PsyD programs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Neuropsychometrist

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a student in a MS program for psychology. I have a bachelors in Psychology, have done undergrad volunteer work in a lab and currently work as Psychometrist, among other things. My experience includes conducting full Neuropsych batteries for a private practice with a variety of patients (<1 year) and I am currently doing testing for a clinical research facility attached to a medical school in my home town. I'm also contributing to a manuscript that will be published at some point next year.

I keep hearing about how important/unimportant grades and GRE exam scores are, but what I would like to know is if neuropsych experience counts for anything amid so many strong applicants? One graduate student told me that it is very important and that it would give me a leg up, but I'm not so sure. My undergraduate GPA is very low, less than 3.0 but I have a 4.0 in my masters program.

I want to apply to both clinical programs with no neuropsych emphasis and programs with neuropsych concentrations. Will my work experience allow me to be a competitive applicant?

Edit: I am applying to mid-tier programs if that makes a difference.

Members don't see this ad.