How/when did you decide to persue dentistry? Long!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hafido

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am starting this thread in the hopes that I will find interesting stories on different types of people that have chosen the dental field as their future career. I am guessing a good portion of the people here have at least a relative who is a dentist or in the field. Anyways here is mine.
I graduated UCSC in 2001 as an econ major, my goal was originally to enter law school because I have 2 uncles that are lawyers and I though that it would be a good, solid profession to enter into. I realized later that I was persuing the career for the wrong reasons, namely money and prestige. The money would be good, but I would absolutely hate the job. it took me a while to let it go, because it was a goal I had for so long, and I did not want to give up on it so easily. I knew that my current job at 7-Eleven Inc.(corporate position, not a cashier) was dead end, and I had aways hated working for corporations. I had always loved business, but was uncertain of going into one, and I have always been a health freak, I love to excercise, and take care of myself very well. So that left me with no direction. To back track a bit, while I was in college, I met Dr. Tony and his beautiful wife. Dr. Tony was an orthodontist in CA, who had known of my original intentions of attending law school, but nonetheless attempted to dissaude me from entering the legal profession, he always said he could see me as a dentist as he said my charisma, business sense, andpeople skills would naturally attract and retain clients and that I should look into the field to see if it would be a something I could be interested in. Having been to many dental clinics in my 24 years, I must say I always liked the peaceful, calm environment, but never though of the profession as a possibility because I though I would become s