Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

How will med schools view this?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by nblyicprz, Jan 3, 2009.

1. nblyicprz

Pre-Medical
    So I am a freshman right now and just finished my first term at my school. On one of my finals, I got sick right before and therefore couldn't take it, and got an F in the class as a result. The class was one of those intro humanities classes which you need to take as per the university standards but is absolutely not necessary for med school.

For my other classes, I got an A, A, and A+.

So, my question is, can I explain this grade to med schools? Will this hurt my GPA in terms of how med schools look at my transcript?

2. 236116

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    Don't worry, especially if it an isolated incident. Will you need to retake for your uni?

Also... more and more schools are rec/req humanities. JSYK.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. 87138

87138 Guest

Medical Student
    Might there be more to the story than you're sharing? That sure doesn't sound right.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. flip26

2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Yes and yes...

5. nblyicprz

Pre-Medical
    What do you mean by that?

6. nblyicprz

Pre-Medical
    I thought med schools didn't care about any other classes besides the pre-med track...

7. 236116

Some schools recommend or require up to 30 hours in humanities, social, and/or behavioural sciences. Some also want comp sci.

Hopkins for instance wants 24 hours in humanities

8. nblyicprz

Pre-Medical
    Okay, so can I count humanities classes BESIDES this one and thus this F would, so to speak, not matter?