How will unfinished graduate work affect me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eng2doc

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm what you would consider a non-trad pre-med student. I graduated with a degree in Electrical Engineering in 2002 and have been working as an engineer since then.

I'll save the "life story" for another post and ask the question that's on my mind.

During the search for my life's calling I tried MBA school. I only completed a couple of semesters when I realized that this wasn't the direction I wanted to go in life. Does the AAMC require transcripts from my MBA school? How will this weigh into my application?

I'm concerned that having an unfinished degree like this might give the admissions committee the idea that I don't know what I want, or that I've made a rash decision to apply to medical school.

Members don't see this ad.

eng2doc said:
I'm what you would consider a non-trad pre-med student. I graduated with a degree in Electrical Engineering in 2002 and have been working as an engineer since then.

I'll save the "life story" for another post and ask the question that's on my mind.

During the search for my life's calling I tried MBA school. I only completed a couple of semesters when I realized that this wasn't the direction I wanted to go in life. Does the AAMC require transcripts from my MBA school? How will this weigh into my application?

I'm concerned that having an unfinished degree like this might give the admissions committee the idea that I don't know what I want, or that I've made a rash decision to apply to medical school.