How would you rank these NY med schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ReAPPer

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Only on an academic basis, not financial.

1) Suny Stonybrook
2) Suny Downstate
2) Suny Buffalo
2) Suny Upstate
3) NYMC

Does this seem right? Are Downstate, Buffalo, and Upstate basically the same as far as quality of match list? How much more competitive is Stonybrook to get into than Downstate? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

1. Stony Brook
2. Downstate
3. Upstate
4. Nymc
5. Buffalo

Stony Brook and Downstate (especially Stony) tend to be fairly desireable.

i have a lot of experience with ny schools. financial aid aside, here's my vote:

1. stony brook
2. downstate
3. nymc
4. upstate
5. buffalo

again... entirely my opinion. best of luck!

Members don't see this ad :)

1) Suny Stonybrook
2) Suny Downstate
2) Suny Buffalo
2) Suny Upstate
3) NYMC

Does this seem right? Are Downstate, Buffalo, and Upstate basically the same as far as quality of match list? How much more competitive is Stonybrook to get into than Downstate? Thanks.

1. SUNY Buffalo (UB)
2. SUNY Upstate
3. SUNY Stony Brook
4. NYMC
5. SUNY Downstate

1. SUNY Buffalo (UB)
2. SUNY Upstate
3. SUNY Stony Brook
4. NYMC
5. SUNY Downstate

But you would never go to a school in an urban/ghetto environment. Forget location and patient population too, He just meant purely for academic reasons.