How you're paying the bills until medical school...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Brancer

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm curious as to how everyone's putting food on the table, as most non-trads have to work before departing to medical school (and eternal loans.)

I'm, right at this moment, supervising 32 kids in a high school class as a substitute teacher. (Don't worry, they're on task.)

What are you doing until matriculation day?

Members don't see this ad.

I work full-time as a teacher and do some private tutoring on the side though I am only taking 8 credits per semester. My time frame is also longer than some because my significant other is in veterinary school and I would like to avoid loans at all cost. While it will take me several years until I am ready to apply and hopefully matriculate, the extra time allows me to save money and reduce any loans that I may need to pay for school.

So I'm curious as to how everyone's putting food on the table, as most non-trads have to work before departing to medical school (and eternal loans.)

I'm, right at this moment, supervising 32 kids in a high school class as a substitute teacher. (Don't worry, they're on task.)

What are you doing until matriculation day?

Members don't see this ad :)
Thankfully I'm married to someone who is willing to pick up the slack while I'm in a post-bacc and then in med school. I promised him a couple of years off once I started practicing (although, knowing him, he'll only make a week or two without work before he dies of boredom).

I travel to developing countries and live under $300/month. Problem solved.

Reactions: 1 user
Working two jobs around full-time school. My license for the higher-paying one expires in June, which is perfect timing.

Married for $$, obviously.