HPSP Fit and Branch Specific Qs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

determinedpremed17

Reaction score
Hi! I’m currently a sophomore in undergrad. I was hoping to get some advice about HPSP.

Background Info:
I’m from a military family (dad is an Annapolis grad and is still in after 20+ years) and have always had a desire to serve. I even applied and was accepted to USNA and West Point, but I knew that I wanted to be a doctor and didn’t want to risk not service selecting into MedCorps, so I decided to go to my top choice civilian school over a service academy. I thought I could satisfy my desire to be of service to my country by simply becoming a doctor, but after helping my younger brother with his applications to USNA and USMA this past summer, I realized that I still want to serve my country as an military officer and leader. My desire to serve is my main reason for pursuing HPSP and I’d probably want to stay in for my entire/the majority of my career. As of now, I’m not completely sure what specialty I want to do, but if given the choice, I would probably choose surgery over medicine (I don’t want to be a GP/family med doc).

Questions:
Would I be a good fit for HPSP? Also, to anyone that has gone through HPSP and is now practicing, what has your experience been? I know most of the HPSP content on here is pretty negative, so has anyone actually had positive experiences? Also, would it be feasible to do a surgery residency through HPSP? And, what are the major differences between Navy and Army HPSP? (I know some residency procedures are different, but not sure what else)

Thank you in advance for your responses!

Members don't see this ad.

Army is bigger than Navy, so more opportunities.

AD surgery seems to suck right now with no end in sight.

Loans and go reserves after medical school.

Reserves SHOULD be the future of 90% of mil med.

Reactions: 1 users