HPSP Myth Busters

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Scooby007

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
HPSP Questions, Answers, and Debunking....

Members don't see this ad.

To start this one off:

I'm an Army HPSP student and have recently heard from the Navy and Air Force recruiters that HPSP students could live in military housing if their school was located near a post (or base). They said all you need is an ID card and obtain your orders (assigning you to school) to get put on the waiting list.

Sounds fishy to me since we are not active duty yet. Can anyone confirm or deny this?

To start this one off:

I'm an Army HPSP student and have recently heard from the Navy and Air Force recruiters that HPSP students could live in military housing if their school was located near a post (or base). They said all you need is an ID card and obtain your orders (assigning you to school) to get put on the waiting list.

Sounds fishy to me since we are not active duty yet. Can anyone confirm or deny this?

If it sounds to good to be true ............

HPSP students are not eligible for housing. There is a Navy program called HSCP (Health Scholarship Collegiate Program) that puts the student on Active Duty as an E-6 while in school. They are eligible for housing. The downside of this program is that it does not cover tuition, fees, books. This program is not available for medical students, but is available for dental students.

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for the confirmation NavyFP! That explains what the Navy recruiter was talking about - I'm not sure why the Air Force guy was saying this though...

It can be done, but it does sound too good because there are no free lunches. If the post/base/station has housing available is req't #1, and second since you are not pulling in BAH yet, you'll probably have to pay.