Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

HPSP NAVY scholarship

Discussion in 'Dental' started by xc1999, Nov 30, 2002.

1. xc1999

xc1999 Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Dentist
    Hello all,

I'm a pre-dental student, and I was wondering if anyone here happens to be on the Navy HPSP scholarship? (Not the army or air force...just the navy). I'm asking about this one specifically because I've heard the treatment from the army isn't so great and they treat you a little better in the Navy as well.

If anyone is on this scholarship, I would like some feedback on how the program is. Is it all worth it? When do you usually start training? Are they flexible with you if you can't appear on a certain date (1st day of training/boot camp for instance)? And do they pay for ALL of your tuition?

Thanks a lot; all input will be very much appreciated :)

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. kazbar

kazbar New Member

I've had a positive experience with the Navy so far. I'm on the four year scholarship & owe 4 years when I graduate. I went to OIS (officer indoctrination school) in Newport, RI the summer before I started dental school. It was 6 weeks, I think (it was 3 1/2 years ago), & wasn't too bad. Each summer you have to do 45 days of training (aka AT), but if you want you can get 'school orders,' where you report to the nearest base on the first day & then report out on the 45th day. All they require is that you stay close to home during the 45 days (no trips to Barbados). Or you can do a clerkship at a Navy base for part of the 45 days & the remainder as school orders.