HS student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SDTENNIS

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a high school student deciding on schools for my undergrad. I got a full ride athletic scholarship to one school. But i would have to pay much more (15K) to go to a more prestigious school. I am afraid if i don't go to the more prestigious school it will hurt me when i apply to medical schools.

Members don't see this ad.

Full Ride Athletic? Go for that. Something interesting to talk about for med school. And it is FREE (every UG's dream!)

What sport may I ask?

I'm a freshman this year and I was also offered a full-ride merit scholarship to a good university although largely unknown out of the state and certainly not high in prestige. I had the choice amongst taking the full ride at this university, or attending a higher-ranked university with less or none financial aid (e.g, Drexel with a half-ride and U of Michigan with no money--I'm from MD). In the end I took the full ride because it opens up the options for me for medical school. In another three years when I start applying and (hopefully!) start getting acceptances I won't have to agonize over which school would cost less, applying only to schools likely to give me financial aid, etc. Although med school debt is rather high it is better than having to pay off undergrad debt on top of that. Godwilling everything goes as planned I can go to the best medical school I can get into because I sacrificed a prestigious undergrad to have a free education.