Huge help: Low Mcat, what are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JellyRN

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!
I took my MCAT in September and I scored 20 (P:10, B:9 and V:1). I am not sure how I scored 1 in Verbal and was questioning the validity of the results as I was doing a way better on the practice exams. I retook the test in January and just got the scores. This time I got 24 (P: 9; b: 8 and Verbal 7). English is my second language. My overall and science GPA is around 3.6. I graduated almost seven years ago, and I have been working as both floor and charge nurse since then at step-down ICU. I completed a wide variety of clinical rotations including pediatrics, psych, L & D, PACU, watched brain surgery at Barrow, completed teachings for below poverty population etc. What are your opinions, what are my chances for any allopathic or osteopathic school in the USA? I attended the seminar for the Ross University several months ago and I questioned the admission's officer while my MCAT was 20, he told me that I was "in good shape". Now, I am wondering if my chances are better since my score was slightly improved?
Hope to hear some thoughts!
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Isha2018

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am also an RN. I was accepted to 3 DO schools and 1 MD school this cycle with a MCAT of 26 (PS 6, VR 11, BS 9).

Since your subscores are above 6, you should be fine for at least the newest DO schools with your score of 24.

The medical schools I interviewed at love RN's (ATSU-SOMA, WesternU-COMP, TCOM, and Tx Tech-El Paso). Compared to young undergrads, We have vast clinical experience and we already know how to relate to patients, physicians, etc. Plus, we tend to be more mature than your average 21-22 year old applicant. :)

Good luck! To be very competitive for most DO schools, take the MCAT again and score a 27+.

JellyRN

7+ Year Member
Reaction score