Hungary anyone?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hajra_magyarok

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All -

I'm currently a medical student in the US. I've always considered moving to Hungary after medical school, but I know nothing about its current medical system.

Is anybody here familiar with the Hungarian medical system?

Could anybody explain to me what the steps that one needs to take in order to become an attending in Hungary are? Take cardiology, gastroenterology or other internal medicine subspecialties as examples. I know people attend medical school after high school for 6 years to receive the MD equivalent. What happens afterwards?

Thanks a lot!

PM me in Hungarian if that's easier.

Members don't see this ad.

hajra_magyarok said:
Hi All -

I'm currently a medical student in the US. I've always considered moving to Hungary after medical school, but I know nothing about its current medical system.

Is anybody here familiar with the Hungarian medical system?

Could anybody explain to me what the steps that one needs to take in order to become an attending in Hungary are? Take cardiology, gastroenterology or other internal medicine subspecialties as examples. I know people attend medical school after high school for 6 years to receive the MD equivalent. What happens afterwards?

Thanks a lot!

PM me in Hungarian if that's easier.

Are you serious? (If so, I might suggest a psych consult.)

It must have been a very long time since you've been here.

To answer your question, what happens after someone graduates from here is that they almost literally become slaves to the powers-that-be (more on that later).