I am an older student, low gpa at present

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ROB

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 26 yo Sophomore with about a 2.2 GPA (not too many hours), do you think that med schools will consider that in my earlier college experience I was just young and stupid? I haven't been to college in 5 yrs, but have much better grades.

Members don't see this ad.

You are going to do some serious booking, on top of some self-assessment. I don't mean to sound as if it is not possible, because anything is! However, medical schools have thousands of applications each year, most of which they are not looking for excuses, they are looking for dedicated individuals intent upon studying and practicing good medicine. It appears that you have dug yourself a deep hole, if you are willing to put the work into digging your way out, adcoms will take note of that. BUT, you must get on track and focus 100% on achieving your goals of medicine. You must remember there are many out there who strive their whole collegiate career towards a career in medicine, and in the end, come up short. It is possible, if you really want it you can do it! Keep at it, and perhaps we will see you in medical school in a few years.

Don't be discouraged. I was in a similar boat and now I will be starting my first year of medschool in August. There are a few important things to remember:
1) You can't change the grades that you earned 5 or 6 years ago.
2) Since you are only a Sophomore, there is still plenty of time to up that GPA.
3) The courses that you excel in as an upperclassman are much more relevent than the Wester Civ. class you made a C in as a Freshman.