I am now scared out of my mind!

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by DoctorRx1986, May 6, 2008.

1. DoctorRx1986

Pharmacy Student
    I'm an incoming P1 student to Nova Southeastern University College of Pharmacy. After submitting my FAFSA and other financial aid forms a few months ago, I finally viewed my "overall status of financial aid". And, by God, I am scared beyond human ability to comprehend fear.... According to calculations, the ESTIMATED cost of attendance for the entire first year is an exorbitant value of $48,572! Jesus Christ! I was hoping for about $40,000 for the year, since I will also be living on campus...but for some reason, the school considers me out-of-state even though I lived in Florida for six long years. I've been living in the Northeast for under a year and for some reason, NOVA considers me out-of-state. After 4 years of pharmacy education, my debt will be nearly $200,000. At this point, I feel so hopeless and destroyed...I feel that the "bright future" people claim I have is beyond over. What good will it serve me to have a Pharm.D. , make anywhere from $100-120 k per year, and then have a debt that is almost doubt my salary? I very well fear I'LL NEVER BE ABLE TO PAY THAT OFF AND THAT I'LL BE LIVING IN A LITTLE ROOM WITH THE BARE MINIMUM TO SURVIVE ONLY TO WORK AND PAY OFF THAT DEBT :confused::eek::(...What have I done to myself? I've definitely heard of people being $100-150 K in debt, but not almost 200k. You only hear about being $200 K in debt with med school students, and sometimes not even with them because average med school debt is around $140,000. So, I guess that's it...I am doomed. And whoever says that is not an enormous debt is probably unrealistic and doesn't even have a debt close to that.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. BlueHens66

BlueHens66 Class of 2012

Pharmacy Student