I am sort of non-traditional. Am I on right the track and what all do I need to do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rsrs3739

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, this is my first post on sdn.

Here's a little background info about myself:
I'm 22 and I graduated from a Texas university with a BS in biology this May. My cGPA was 3.53 and my sGPA was probably 3.7+. I worked as a waiter 3-4 nights a week from my sophomore year up until graduation. I was also a volunteer/undergrad scholar in a research lab for two years and completed an individual research project for which I received a grant and a fellowship. After graduation, I was going to find a job and go for a graduate degree in molecular science somewhere down the road. But I recently decided that I wanted to pursue a career in medicine.

Where I stand now:
So I have been doing research on how to get into med school. Luckily I took all the prerequisite courses (biochem, micro, stats, etc) for med school in college, so I am all set there. But I have no shadowing and clinical experience and a little volunteering. The only volunteering I did in college was just picking up trash one day at a festival (8hrs~), volunteering in a lab (16 hrs a week one summer), and going on a mission trip as a leader for one week.
I started volunteering at a hospital last week and Im also planning on shadowing a doctor soon.
My ExamKracker 9th Ed is on the way. I plan on taking MCAT in December or January.
My first pick school is TCOM and I'm thinking about doing their SMP first since I wasn't a pre-med student.

Do you think I'm on the right track? What else do I need to work on?
Thank you so much for your time!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: