I can't imagine someone study with FA + UW

Discussion in 'Step I' started by The Angriest Bird, Jun 5, 2008.

1. The Angriest Bird

Resident [Any Field]
    A couple of points I want to make here.

1. UW is insanely hard. Many have told me UW is about the same level as the real Step I. It isn't. I've done the 100 sample questions from NBME site, where are the ONLY "official" Step I questions we can obtain. They are significantly easier, straightforward, not-testing-OMGGOTYA-trivia.

2. I'm studying with Micro Made Ridiculously Simply, BRS Path, and K&T Pharm. I memorize them all. I do the practice questions after each chapter and do extremely well. I use FA too, but after reading those books FA is a a joke. When I switched to UW, I got kicked in my ass. I score around 55%-60%. Hitting 70% sometimes.

3. I know many people are studying with only First Aid and UW. I don't know how they can do that. For those people, 7 out of 10 questions on UW you would have to make a hopefully educated guess. There's a HUGE gap between the coverage of FA and UW, which is perhaps several detailed review books and some real-life practice experience.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. doc20

Attending Physician
    whats your point????????
    and remember nbme questions only have the same level of concept to the actual usmle, but the stem of question are no way close to the real usmle style

4. 78222

78222 Guest

Medical Student
    I really don't think you can make this claim until you take the actual exam. I found the NBME questions to be significantly easier than the actual board questions. And as I've posted, the UW Self Assessment pretty accurately predicted my score (within 5 points). I found the real thing to be almost indistinguisable from UW.
    STEP I is more than just memorization - it's about being presented information you know in a way you don't know. This is whats great about UW.