I don't feel ready for residency (re: did I do 4th year wrong?)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Seaunicorn

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I finally made an account on here because I've been feeling down since submitting my rank list. It hit me that I'm going to be a doctor in months and I'm wondering who in the he** decided this was a good idea?! I don't feel ready at all. I tried to commiserate with my best bud at school today, thinking that I'm probably not alone in this. Unfortunately his response was essentially, "You're fine. BTW, today I corrected my attending regarding management of an ICU patient. Look how smart we are!"

Today I forgot how to reverse warfarin vs heparin. Suffice it to say that his response did NOT make me feel better.

I'm an average student overall at a US MD school: <230 step 1, average step 2, passed CS first try, top 1/3 of students for class rank. That said, I can't shake the feeling that I've somehow tricked people into thinking I'm smarter than I am. I feel like I've spent 4 years hiding what an idiot I actually am. One of my biggest concerns is that didn't try hard enough, and that I somehow didn't learn enough on clerkships. I always passed the shelves (average scores) and got good to strong evals. But I also feel like as a 3rd year and sub-i, I worked pretty hard to try to look good on the floors, which didn't always make for the best learning. Admissions would scare me because I didn't want to look like an idiot. I tried to do the best I could with the patients I had and not get overloaded so I wouldn't look bad. Things like that.