Jul 19, 2009
Status
I've always wanted to be a doctor. When I was little, I thought IVs and shots were soooo cool! 3 or 4 years ago, I started fainting whenever a needle goes into me or someone else! Its not that I'm scared - I got facet injects (12 or so needles!) every month in my back the past 2 years for track and field. But I faint when I get an IV, even with my eyes closed, have to get blood drawn, or watch someone get a lumbar puncture! I can feel the faint coming on, but I try not to be a wimp so I don't say anything. And then I faint! Its so frustrating! and embarassing! Anyone else have this problem and did you make it stop? And as a side question, will this affect me in med school or as a doctor?

I'm an EMT and we see some massive bleeds and I get blood on me all the time, so its not the blood thats doing it.

apumic

Oracle of the Sheet
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jan 1, 2007
Denver, CO
Status
Medical Student
This probably is something you should get screened by your PCP before asking it on a forum. Most obviously, it simply sounds like classical conditioning; however, b/c you're working as an EMT and it doesn't bother you there, it makes me wonder if something could be going on biomedically that no one here would really have the knowledge/experience to catch. That having been said, if it is simple conditioning, you can treat yourself with systematic desensitization. Self-treating here, assuming you understand what SD is, should be possible and SD would be the most evidence-based tx for this kind of problem (as well as the cheapest).

As far as effecting your work as a doc, well... hard to say, but if injecting others makes you sick as well, then yes, it could be an issue at times. Really, it would depend on your specialty. Normally, in most specialties, techs and nurses will perform injections (in the hospital) but you need to be able to do them as well for certain procedures as well as to get through med school in the first place.

Blesbok