Aug 28, 2016
Status
Pre-Medical
Hello pre-dental folks,

I am slowly losing hope after reading many negative opinions and threads on SDN. But, I want to hold on to my dream..

A little bit about my background; I've recently graduated from one of the UCs with 3.0 gpa. All my pre-reqs were taken at a cc since I am a transfer student and some upper div. biology courses were taken at UC.
In order to make up my gpa a bit, I am thinking about going through informal post-bacc starting next spring and the problem is that I already have massive amount of lower div. and upper div. science classes on my transcript.. Also, due to financial problems, I think this is the only route that I can take for now.

Is it a good idea to take informal post-bacc at a 4 year institution and take some upper div courses such as immunology starting next year? (I will be working half-time as well)
Or is it a better idea to take pre-reqs again at a 4 year institution?
Are there any better options in my situation? Can a good DAT score compensate my undergrad work?
I will try to build up some good ECs next year as well, but is U.S. military experience a good EC?

I am sorry if I came up with so many questions, but I feel so lost and any advice will be greatly appreciated..
Thank you all in advance.

Mason91

5+ Year Member
Aug 19, 2014
Status
Dental Student
I'm in a similar situation as you, although a slightly better GPA; mine's sitting at 3.3 but my science is 2.8.
I've asked similar questions and according to the advice I've got, you should re-take pre-reqs you didn't do well in (C or below) and some upper-level science you haven't taken before. If you think UCs are bit tough, I don't think it'd hurt you if you took those courses at another 4-year institution. You might have to take quite a few classes, though.. (at least 1 year?) since you already have a b.s.. In my case, I have to take 25~30 credit hours and get straight A's in them to raise my GPA to where I want it to be.