I feel like I'm not doing enough...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ma2

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a freshman, will be a sophomore next year. Lately, as I've been reading this forum, I just feel like I'm not doing enough. I'm currently in a drama club and volunteering at a hospital, but nothing else. I'm not in research or shadowing physicians left and right. I'm not the president of anything. Heck, I don't even have a job!

What concerns me is that my schedule next semester is going to be PACKED. I have class everyday essentially from 9-5. The gaps in between are three hours, so definitely not enough time. I want to work, but it's just not realistic.

I feel I'm going to end up a junior with nothing under my belt to show I'm dedicated to medicine. That I want to be in medical school. That at least one medical school would want to accept me.

Do you have any advice? I'm double majoring in biology and English (part of the reason I have a packed schedule, but actually it's my science classes that start and end late, with my English being in the middle of the day).

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
What concerns me is that my schedule next semester is going to be PACKED. I have class everyday essentially from 9-5. The gaps in between are three hours, so definitely enough time. I want to work, but it's just not and it's totally realistic.
FTFY.
It's called time management, and you're going to have to learn it.
Apply for an on-campus work-study/student assistant job. Then you can work that around your class schedule.
Look for volunteering/shadowing that you can do in the evenings/on the weekends. Or build your schedule so you have a couple of afternoons without labs/classes and do those things in that time.
But first and foremost, stop saying "I can't". If you say that, then it becomes a self-fulfilling prophesy and you never will.