I feel like I'm wasting/ wasted my gap year. Please could use some guidance because reddit and sdn are all i have

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Passionseeking

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok so in short I decided to go to medical school instead of physical therapy school right before I graduated, so my application needed help before it was ready.

To summarize my current app...

I graduated with a cumulative GPA of 3.59, sGPA of 3.4 (averaging 2 Cs in gen chem with retaking them for 2 A-s).

Several teachers have agreed to write me strong letters of recommendation. ( 4 now but might ask for more and make it 6)

ECs in short are sports every year of college (soccer freshman year, cross country sophomore and junior year, track junior year ( currently hold 6 school track records), volleyball senior year), started my own track club (was the president), was in my school's drama club and was the lead in plays on and off campus, environmental club, video game club (idk if this club is worth mentioning tho), produced award winning films for film club, etc.

In terms of volunteering, I have 100 volunteer hours from when I wanted to do physical therapy, but I'm not sure if this looks good if used. If so I'm assuming it'll be considered non clinical because I was with a PT the whole time. I have probably 20 additional volunteer hours from doing random things throughout college just for the experience. Stuff like making sandwiches for homeless, making Thanksgiving boxes for less fortunate, etc.

For clinical experience I just recently completed and EMT course and have the ability to work for an EMS company but will probably volunteer at first because volunteering is only 911 calls and working is more transporting patients.