1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

I feel so old.....!? Give an oldie some advice

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by weezbug123, May 1, 2007.

1. weezbug123

2+ Year Member

Pre-Pharmacy
    So, all you youngin’s talking about taking your finals made me feel so old! ;) I’m not that old really (only 24), but I have been out of school for three years. I was hoping some of you could share some of your insight on what my chances are for getting into pharmacy school.

I graduated magna cum laude from Northern Illinois University in 2004 with 3.76 gpa overall and about 3.4 mean for science. But, my major was philosophy and pre-med (I was planning on med school, then, after college, figured out that it wasn’t really for me, and then finally realized pharmacy was my calling). I had a ton of extracurriculars while in school (Service Sorority, Mu Sigma Honor Society, Mortar Board, Pre-Professional Association, etc.).

After graduating, I worked in the health field as a Patient Representative (I traveled to Chicago hospitals and screened and assisted patients in the Medicaid application process, helped them get into Crime Victims Programs, etc. Then, I took a position as Scheduling Coordinator for catastrophic survivors. Each job required a lot of contact with patients and a myriad of different types of health care providers. It was these two positions that made me realize that pharmacy was a better fit for me.