USMLE I finally passed! after failing 3 times

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MsDcDoc

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am writing this post to hopefully give some encouragement/advice to anyone struggling with passing this exam. I realize that each person may have different barriers to passing this exam, but I will share my experience. Im currently a 3rd year pediatric resident. I didn't have the highest grades in medical school. I passed the majority of my classes and graduated but I had my share of hiccups along the way. However, I passed Step 1 with a 191 (barely above the passing score at that time); Step 2 with a 214; and Step 2 CS all on the first attempt. I had my first child in the middle of intern year but I full time help at home from my aunt. Nevertheless I still found it difficult to come home after working hours and study for step 3 because I felt obligated to give my aunt a break. My other pitfall was listening to others conversation about the exam. I heard several people say that they studied for a short period of time and only did uworld questions. With minimal preparation they were able to pass comfortably. I assumed it would be no different for me. I did my first attempt the beginning of my second year while I was on inpatient peds night float rotation. That was a terrible rotation to study on for obvious reasons plus add trying to spend time with my child it was a disaster. But at my program you get about 5 days off in a row during that rotation so scheduling wise that was the best time to take it. I did about 60% of uworld, skimmed master the boards and the Uworld CCS cases here and there. I was scoring like 60% average on U world. Took the exam and while I thought it was difficult I also thought all the Steps were difficult, so I figured I would pass. After the exam we all do this self reflection and I realized I pretty much bombed biostats and the CCS was new to me but I