Quantcast

I found this URM forum after the non-trad forum

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TeacherNoMore

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Hello to all,

I'm a 27 year old teacher planning up for my pre-reqs and the responses from family and friends have been "yeah-right."

I suppose my real question for this forum is:

How critical is the URM element to your application?

While I am a year or so away from even applying to medical school, I'd like to weigh all of the factors now, before I'm knee deep.

I live in California and plan on applying in California so it may not mean much here but is it true that schools, other than Howard or Fisk, see URM and try to "court" you?

If I'm way off base slap some sense into me and tell me what the truth is.
Thanks in advance

DoctaJay

bone breaker
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi teachernomore. Your question has the potential to open up a can of worms, but I'l try to answer it.

Medical schools realize for a variety of reasons that diversity in the physician pool is important. So all else being equal, and unfortunately, sometimes unqual, your race makes your application more desireable.

But please don't rely on this. The UNFORTUNATE downside to this is that you are essentially competeting for less spots when applying. You'll notice that your medical school class will rarely have more than 10 URMs in every class. And many more URMs apply than are actually accepted; so its much better to do your absolute best, and let the medical schools decide on how to categorize your application.

I'm sure you have received great advice in the nontrad forum, but to reiterate, you will be very competetive at ANY school with a 3.8+ GPA and a 30+ MCAT. Shoot for this and the application process will be more of a choosing game than anything else.
----------------------------------------