I got a 491 mcat score. Asking for advice to improve my score

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
M

mitrieD

I studied for 4 months and about 5 hours a day for the mcat and I got a 491, which is like a 19 on the old Mcat :scared:. I'm pretty devastated. The materials I used was the Exam Krackers book set, and the EK 1001 physics and Cars. I think the problem is that I only took one FL practice exam (from EK). I got a decently higher score on that compared to the real Mcat (I avg. 125 in each section for the EK exam). Maybe that practice exam was easier. I can't apply to podiatry school with this score.

Anyways I'm asking for advice. I just purchased the TPR psych and soc book (Psych and soc was my lowest score) as well as the Official Guide to the Mcat Exam book for the practice problems as well as to keep up with all of the topics that I will be tested on.

I don't know if I should go through EK again and just study more? Or maybe I should take more practice exams. I should probably do both. I can't really afford to shell out for all of the TPR text books, and I don't know how much more effective the Kaplan 7 book set is compared to EK.

Thanks for taking the time to read this. I can really use the advice.

Members don't see this ad.

what did 4 months of studying include if you only took 1 fl?

I spent a lot of time in physics EK 1001 and practiced chem. Those were my weakest subjects at the time. Ironically PS was my highest score on the Mcat. It was a lot easier than I thought it would be.

I don't think the content of any prep company is sufficient to conquer the MCAT. As @HopefulPilot said - it's the FLs that get you to a higher score: content is one thing, mastering how to apply content is another

I'd suggest following a structured study plan. Several posted on here. The plan needs to include all topics and multiple fl's. I don't think you need to buy new study material.