I got a 504 and I'm taking 2 gap years now

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fdsa2495

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I got a 504(126/125/127/126) on June 13th release date and I need to retake. I was going to apply this year but will now take another gap year to do better. I want to take my MCAT before January 2018. I need to know what to do so I can improve my score. I did do well in undergrad (3.84) and I know I have the potential. It's not about understanding concepts, because I understand most bio/chem concepts easily. Timing isn't a problem either, the problem is memorizing/remembering things that I've learned. During my undergrad, most of the time I studied a little everyday and then before the exam I would memorize everything, take the exam, and then forget everything I learned after the exam. I always did well with this method so I never thought of changing it but obviously this is not working out for the MCAT.

Please help me in reconsidering my study method to score better next time:

- I did not make a schedule, I would study whenever I could because of my random work hours (full time); my plan is to make a schedule and try to stick with it
- I took 2 NS practice tests and got super lazy when I started section banks; complete all AAMC material (IDK why I kept thinking a miracle was going to happen, I score 498 and 500 on the practice)
- I studied with a friend who ended up not taking the MCAT and switched to another career choice - this really through my entire studying off
- I did not read any prep books thoroughly, I would skim through and then do the practice problems in the back for EK books

I really just need some motivation right now, and I really really need some help figuring out how I can do well. I was so good in college but after I graduated I have lost all my motivation and am so burned out, IDK what to do

Members don't see this ad.