I have a Big Dilemma :( Please Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

acidhouse303

street pharmacist
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
so i was all set and ready to send in my deposit for BU and start looking for apts in Boston when I get this letter from MCO (medical college of ohio) saying they're giving me some presidential scholarship where they would cover all tuition and fees for all four years of medical school. a freakin free ride. so im really sad and confused now and dont know waht to do. im from nyc originally and have lived there forever (minus HS) but i am an ohio resident (long story) and my parents now live in ohio. going to mco would totally suck bc i think toledo is pretty boringwith nothing to do. (and id need to learn to drive again blah) im a pretty crazy liberal east coast city kid and i doubt i'd get along with any of the students at mco, being they are mostly in state. everyone i met during interviewing seemed real... midwest. i think boston is a great place and theres a lot of good research going on there and BU is a better school and i have a lot of friends there and its not too far from NYC. plus i want to practice on the east coast and i feel like residency matches are very regional. is that true? but everyone tells me i wont have time to do anything anyway so it doesnt matter where i go bc ill have no life (?) anyway i think id be really depressed if i went to school in ohio and if i did badly in school due to that then id lose the scholarship which would defeat the whole purpose (u have to maintain a high pass every semester). the free thing sounds great and ill be within driving distance of my fam (and my dad is sick etc) so im torn, guys. can you please help? i think id be happier in boston but its expensive- is that selfish of me? *siiigh* :( :(

Members don't see this ad.