NakMuay

Removed
Nov 13, 2010
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
Coming to this forum a couple days ago has kind of made me wonder if I'm just wasting my time. Everyone here seems to have GPAs that are off the charts. I don't.

I graduated in 2008 with a 3.04 GPA in MIS. My last year of college I averaged a 3.82, but all the other years were lousy b/c I didn't apply myself. One semester I even got a 1.8. Another, a 2.3. Its a miracle I even got above 3.0.

Fortunately I didn't take any of the science prereqs back then, so I never had the chance to mess those up too. I started taking them this year...at a community college. I'm taking gen chem and physics right now, and am right on track to get As. I've also taken AP I and II and aced those. However, I'm concerned my grades will be discounted b/c its community college, and they might wonder if the sudden jump in my grades is b/c the classes are easy at CC.

I'll probably take the rest of my prereqs at university after finishing the chem/physics series. Hopefully it won't be too late by then.

Anyway, hi, I'm NakMuay. Nice to be here.

AmpedUp

The Legend Still Lives
7+ Year Member
Dec 1, 2009
Status
Dentist
Nope. You're not wasting your time if you have a passion for dentistry.

Get A's in those pre-req courses and smash the DAT and I'm pretty sure something will be out there for you. If you feel comfortable at a community college then that's your call; however, realize that there are a few schools that won't accept credits for pre-req courses from community college (Tufts comes to mind). Anyway, it sounds to me that you're on the right track. Keep it up!

dentalWorks

Nights Watchmen
7+ Year Member
Jun 25, 2009
Sterling Hts, Mi
Status
Dentist
Coming to this forum a couple days ago has kind of made me wonder if I'm just wasting my time. Everyone here seems to have GPAs that are off the charts. I don't.