1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

I have a question about my work schedule

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by miked123, May 14, 2008.

1. miked123

Pre-Pharmacy
    Hey guys, I am trying to decide what to do in terms of money while going to school. I would love to hear your opinions about my situation.

I work in sales right now and make about 45k salary. I also work in a retail pharmacy pt for an extra $100 a wk. I have been taking 2-3 classes per semester and getting straight A's. After taxes my take home is only about $620 a wk. To make a long story short,

I am wondering if it would be better to quit my job and wait tables in the evenings where I could make at least $500 - $600 a wk cash and the ability to go to school full time during the day. Although it would be a bit of a demotion in status and actual salary, the take home cash would be the same or more and I would have more time to bang out all the rest of my pre-reqs.

I am really struggling with this decision and have gotten mixed imput from my parents and girlfriend.

Thanks in advance

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. twester

twester Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Pharmacist
    What are you going to do when pharmacy school starts? It'll be hard to wait tables every night or to work a $45K a year sales job. Do you need $45K to pay bills, etc? Your income during pharmacy school is going to take a serious hit (I made $9600 last year and the rest came from loans). I'd keep the full-time job with the regular salary and start scaling back by paying off any debt and making it possible for you to live on MUCH less.

4. miked123

Pre-Pharmacy