I just do not see the advantages/disadvantages

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smsc2009

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I have been around all the boards here at SDN asking questions about different careers in medicine. I am currently a sophmore in high school intrested in medical school. I plan on going to a CSU/UC (I am a California resident) and doing my premedicine requirments. I want to go to a CSU/UC because of the tuition rate, this way I won't have to worry as much about Med School debt because there will be no undergraduate debt. A few questions,

1. I have read on the forums that going to a state school is not good, and in fact going to a community college could be better. I can't find the threads now, (search is not working for me) however is this true?

2. I understand for D.O. you do NOT need a BS, or BA.. you simply need the premedicine requirments + MCAT, while with MD you need some form of a Bacholars, correct?

3. If I choose the MD/DO route, at this time I want to be a Neurologist (I have my reasons for choosing this speicality, I did not just pick it out of a hat) As a Nuerologist I don't see the advantages/disadvantages of going DO, could somebody please explain why being a DO Neurologist is different from being a MD Nuerologist. As I understand it the only difference is OMM, correct? Would I beable to use OMM Neurology?

4. Also, I understand that after Med School becoming Neurologist is a 4 year process, 1 year of IM, and then 3 years of Neurology. After the residency I would beable to to a one year fellowship in Alzheimer's disease, right?

5. Is it true that as a DO I would have to complete an addition year of training to be a Neurologist? The states I see myself practicing or either NY, NJ, PA, or CA.

I would appreicate if someone to could me information on why to go DO vs MD if wanting to practice Neurology, or even why to go MD vs DO,
Thanks