1. Visit this thread to beta-test StudySchedule.org. StudySchedule is a free nonprofit site that builds dynamic MCAT study schedules unique for your needs and timeline.
Check out the new Application Assistant, where you can calculate your LizzyM score, see how you rank compared to other applicants, and see a list of schools where similar students were accepted.

I just took the MCAT and I need some advice

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by flaminghotswedishfish, Sep 18, 2014.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. flaminghotswedishfish

flaminghotswedishfish

Jun 22, 2014
    I am studying molecular biology/biochemistry at UCSB. My cGPA is 3.34 and my science GPA is probably around a 3.3. I still have one more year to go so I hope to bring my GPA up to 3.4 at least. I have 3 C's, in Gen Chem (Thermo), intro bio 1 (C+), and intro to bio lab (C+). I actually took upper division thermodynamics and got a B+. My GPA was awful my sophomore year since I got my first job that year and had trouble with the workload at first but now I've been consistently getting 3.5+ GPAs every quarter while maintaining that job, doing research, and volunteering.

I was consistently getting 30+ (30-36) on my MCAT practice tests and I have a feeling I got closer to a 36 than a 30 on the actual test.

I've been doing research in a molecular biology lab for a year now and we hope to get published soon. I have been interning at 2 hospitals for over 2 years and I have traveled to other countries set up clinics as well. I have plenty of letters of Rec from science professors, doctors that I've volunteered with (all MD's however, I don't know how this will affect my chances at a DO school), and the manager of my internship program.