I know im beating a dead horse here...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

InfectiousDocc

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know this has been asked but I wonder if I am asking about something slightly different than most.

I am currently enrolled in a community college. Im an A/B student with a 3.3 GPA and I am going for my AA in Math-Science. I need three more semesters to graduate and within those 3 semesters, I will essentially be taking most of my pre-med reqs- Chem I and II, Bio I and II, and 3 semesters of college math. I would finish them up at the 4 yr I will be attending, so my Physics I and II and Orgo I and II would be from a 4-yr inst.

I know that taking pre-reqs at cc isnt favorable, but it works out better in my case, since my cc has a transfer compact with the 4 yr, meaning that all my gen eds would be complete and I would have priority in the admissions process.

Also, I am planning on majoring in Biology, and besides for the orgo, physics and a couple biochem classes, the rest of the classes i would be taking are at the 500-level, which is high for this 4-yr. If I get great grades (As and B+s) in all of those classes, it would prove to most med schools that I have what it takes, despite taking pre-reqs at the cc, right? I love science and I have no doubt that I will excel, but it seems that right now, cc is a better route for me.

Also, WHEN i ever get around to applying for med school, I plan to apply to a large variety of MD and DO schools.

Sorry this is so long and probably confusing but any insight on the matter is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Worry more about your grades than where you take the classes. No one's going to object to a high gpa.